Skip to content

Alumni Awards

The 2023 award recipients are:

Emerging Leaders Award– Brandi Waters ALM ’18
Michael Shinagel Award for Service to Others– Leonora Anyango, Ph.D. ALM ’23
Military-Veteran Distinguished Service Award– Michael Harrington ALM ’99

Emerging Leaders Award
This award recognizes a graduate of Harvard Extension School who has graduated within the last decade (2014-2023) and is a role model for current and future professionals through leadership, innovation and selfless dedication in their field of practice.

Michael Shinagel Award for Service to Others
This award recognizes a graduate of Harvard Extension School who has dedicated at least ten (10) years in service to others. Special consideration is given to efforts at the grassroots level, as it best illustrates the broad impact that a single individual can have by inspiring social change in their communities.

Military-Veteran Distinguished Service Award
This Military-Veteran Distinguished Service Award recognizes a graduate of Harvard Extension School who served in the United States military before or during pursuit of their HES degree and has demonstrated exceptional service to both the military and their communities. 

Previous Award Winners

Michael Shinagel Award for Service to Others

  • 2022: Emilio Sempris ALM ’21
  • 2021: Sunita Mittal Agarwal ALM ’13
  • 2020: Frederica Williams CSS ’91
  • 2019: Mark Plotkin ABE ’79
  • 2018: Dr. Julius Dudley EDM ’85, CSS ’88
  • 2017: Ruth I. Gove ABE ’67
  • 2016: Carlos De La Rosa ALM ’08
  • 2015: Ann Warner-Harvey CSS ’01
  • 2014: Kenneth Brady ABE ’74

Emerging Leaders Award

  • 2022: Hai Hoang ALM ’22, Moshe Ohayon ALM ’18, Alia Qatarneh ALM ’20
  • 2021: Kelly Burton, ALM ’20, Heather Emerson, ALM ’20
  • 2020: Renee M. Greene ALM ’19, Diane Smith ALM ’17, Peter Thielen ALM ’11
  • 2019: Nicolas Tejera ALM ’15, Wilson Vorndick ALM ’15 
  • 2018: Michael Fabiano ALM ’16, Maes Suwantra ALM ’08

Military-Veteran Distinguished Service Award

  • 2022: Annjea Cormier ALM ’19, Anthony Dwayne Maxie Jr ALM ’18
  • 2021: Damion Digrazia, ALM ’14, Shawn Henry, ALM ’18

Michael Shinagel Medal

  • 2017: Dr. Latanya Sweeney ALB ’95

Members of the Harvard Extension Alumni Association as defined in Section 3.1* of the Association bylaws may nominate candidates, and only members meeting that definition will be considered for Harvard Extension Alumni Association Alumni Awards. Awards Committee members, along with HEAA Board members, are not eligible to be nominated. Winners will be selected through a blind review process.

3.1 Alumni, certificate holders, faculty of Harvard Extension School, as well as persons whose names appear on the alumni records of the Extension School, shall be members of the Association as provided in the Bylaws.

Questions? Contact